Tradition

Now that March is over and spring has officially started, I have a lot on my mind.  Spring trends, classes, and the absolutely gorgeous weather that is definitely on its way are a few examples.  However, in the midst of all that, I sometimes needed to ground myself, so to speak.  I am so sucked into the hustle and bustle of college life that I forget to pause and think about other parts of my life that are farther away from school.

Tradition is a big part of my life, maybe because I am a first-generation American.  My mom was born and raised in Greece and moved here when she was eight.  I was raised bilingual.  My life is basically “My Big Fat Greek Wedding,” and I cannot escape the Greek influences on my life–not that I’d want to.  One huge tradition that has stuck with me over the years is picture above.  This tiny yarn bracelet above, called a “martinka,” is an old Greek-Macedonian tradition.  It has both a secular and religious significance.  Religiously, the red represents the blood of Christ that he spilled on the cross, while the white represents new life and the Resurrection.  The martinka is worn all through the month of March–which I did.  My mom sent me the yarn in the mail!–and on the first of April, you cut it off and throw it in the bushes (or, in my case, this pretty tree).  For Greeks, we do not have an Easter bunny, we have a Pascha (Easter) stork.  The legend goes that the stork will collect all of the martinkas that were thrown in bushes or trees and will bring the people that wore them something on Easter!

So there you have it: a tradition that has been alive in my family for generations.  I have worn a martinka since I was a baby, as does my whole family–even my dad, who is not Greek in the slightest!

What traditions do your families have?  I love hearing about them, especially the ones focused on holidays!  They really say a lot about people.

I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend!

2 thoughts on “Tradition

Leave a Reply

