Christmas Past

I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas, and if you celebrate another holiday, I hope your last few days have been sublime.  I had a fantastic Christmas and Christmas Eve.  It did not feel like Christmas until Christmas morning itself, and even though I am 19 years old, I could not sleep the night before and woke up at 5:10 AM on Christmas morning.  Of course, I fell back asleep, but the child in me forces me to stay up late on Christmas Eve and wake up early to celebrate Christmas morning.

Here are a few things about Christmas that I love :

Our 14-foot tree, bright and beautiful on Christmas Eve.  A few presents are already snuggled up underneath the branches.

Homemade sushi on Christmas Eve.

A few of my favorite Christmas baubles and decorations adorning our mantle.

Our tree on Christmas morning.  Every year we get a real tree, and it is always super tall and quite skinny.  This year my mom and I decorated it by ourselves, which involved lots of time balancing on the ladder.  We just bought a fake Christmas tree for my apartment next year–my first fake tree ever.  As excited as I am for my own place, and as easy as it will be to put up and maintain a fake tree, it’s wonderful to have a place to come back to that will smell like pine needles during the holidays.

This last “Christmas favorite” is a bit silly and a bit bittersweet.  I am Greek Orthodox–which is very similar to Catholicism pre-Vatican II except we have an Archbishop instead of a Pope and the service is in ancient Greek rather than Latin–and we fast before major holidays such as Easter and Christmas.  This means that by Christmas Eve, we are completely vegan and some people like my grandparents go so far as to not eating anything cooked with or containing oil.  These fasts can be tiresome, especially for children, so after the Christmas service the priest at our church hands out chocolate Santas to the kids.  This Christmas was the first time I did not get a Santa.  I am 19 years old and I suppose I look like an adult, but it was jarring to not get this silly Santa that doesn’t even taste that good.  I guess I viewed it as another transition from childhood into adulthood.  My dad saw how upset I was and asked for a Santa for me, and I still haven’t eaten it.  I guess I must finally grow up!

Speaking of growing up, I feel as though this year I did not really want anything.  I loved everything I received, but I have everything that I want or need.  Does anyone else feel this way?  Not to be corny, but I think now I can focus more on the true meaning of Christmas rather than the excitement of getting gifts–although I will always savor those few moments of shredding the wrapping paper!

Once again, Merry Christmas everyone!  I hope you are enjoying time with those who mean the most to you.

4 thoughts on “Christmas Past

  1. beautiful post! That is such a pretty tree. And I know exactly what you mean. My parents got me a lot of gifts this year like they did when I was little but I already felt like I already have everything I need!

    <3Chelsea Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

