The Big One-Nine

Yo shawty//it’s yo birthday//we gon’ party like it’s your birthday!

Today is my 19th birthday! (see excited pose above)  I had an interesting day… woke up, breakfast next door with Yiayia and Papou (grandma and grandpa in Greek… my life is basically My Big Fat Greek Wedding, no joke), relaxing, lunch with Yiayia (Papou went off to work with my mom), watched a depressing episode of Full House, worried about whether or not I would be called into work, Skyped the boyfriend, was not needed at work (yeeeeeess!!), sushi dinner with the fam, delicious trifle dessert at home, and presents!

Because I am a giant nerd I made a “what I loved about being 18” list ten minutes before midnight last night.  I am a huge list-maker, and I get really freaked out before big “change” holidays, such as my birthday and New Year’s Eve.  I frantically think about all the good things that happened in the past year and then try to envision goals for the next.  This ritual is a really big deal for me, even if it seems silly!

Birthday note from mommy :)

Birthday cake candle in a shot glass… at Yiayia and Papou’s.

Delicious bday breakfast!  Om nom nom…

Before going out for sushi…

V-neck: Forever XXI | Floral Shorts: Express | Shoes: DSW

In the car at a stoplight… safe driving, right?

Birthday trifle, made by my mother.  This has got to be my favorite dessert of all time!  It’s even more delicious than it is beautiful.

All in all, I’ve had a fantastic birthday.   It was definitely “my day” and I made the most out of it!  I’m so grateful for my wonderful family… they made the day special!  Even though he is 800+ miles away, my boyfriend kept me sane today when I was all alone in the house.  His birthday package (that had arrived on Monday, but I was given strict directions not to open it til my birthday… I ripped it open at 12:01) made my day!  I also love my friends, who are mostly all back to school by now but still took the time to wish me a happy birthday.  I love you all!

:*

Leave a Reply

